DUI in Maryland is illegal and considered as a crime. If your age is over 21 and under the influence and your blood content is higher than 0.8 measured by the chemical test. Law is being imposed by the state of Maryland, so in case if someone refuses for a chemical test, then it will cause license suspension automatically.
Maryland differentiates among driving under the influence (DUI) and driving under the influence of alcohol (DWI). The first is more serious than the second.
The maximum penalty for a DWI is imprisonment for 60 days, a fine of $ 500, and administrative suspension of the license for six months. So to restore your license you may need to complete a substance abuse treatment program. Although there is no mandatory minimum period of imprisonment, those convicted by DWI face a sentence of more than period of six months in prison with a maximum fine of $ 2,000 if they transported a minor when he was arrested.
If your blood content is .08 or higher, then you may be convicted for a DUI. It may cause the maximum fine of $1,000 and one year of imprisonment, as well as the suspension of the administrative license for 6 months and certain terms related to the restoration of your driver’s license. As with a DWI conviction, there is an improvement in DUI conviction.
If you had committed the crime the time when you got arrested then specifically, he can be imprisoned for up to 2 years. Also, a DUI conviction places 12 points on your record, unlike the 8 points you receive with DWI conviction.
ADDITIONAL CONSEQUENCES DUI / DWI
First offenders in Maryland may be eligible for pre-trial, which allows the person’s record/background to remain clear of convictions. The penalties are not imposed on the driver’s license, and the driver’s car insurance premiums remain the same.
On the other hand, convictions influence the conviction of future DUI / DWI charges, for five years. For instance, if you have committed second time DUI within 5 years of prior conviction, then mandatory jail of 5 days will be imposed minimum and it may range two years maximum with a fine of $ 2,000. If you have done third DUI offense within five years period from prior conviction then the maximum penalty of three years jail and fine of $ 3,000.
Fines and incarceration are not the only possible consequences in the context of DUI / DWI. Judges can also request community service, probation, and assistance to a Victim Impact Panel. Also, you may have your license suspended, depending on the nature of the conviction and your criminal record. There are additional possible penalties, as well as, the requirement that an explosion interlock device is installed in your vehicle to prevent your driver’s license from being suspended.
Lawyers who are well informed about DUI / DWI crimes are sometimes able to obtain reduced penalties or find procedural errors that may result in charges against them.
If you need the help of a lawyer in MD with this type of a case in Montgomery County, Charles County (Waldorf), Rockville, Bethesda, Baltimore County, Baltimore City, Anne Arundel (Annapolis), Howard County, Ellicott City or Frederick, do not hesitate to call us for a consultation, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options. B