Virginia can be a great place for a family road trip, but the fun can be spoiled when mom or dad is pulled over by a trooper or police officer for something like speeding or passing on a grade and ends up charged with reckless driving. Drivers from other states can be shocked to learn that reckless driving is a crime in Virginia, and they are facing not just a simple traffic ticket, but a criminal charge that can be penalized with jail time and affect their driver’s license back home.
There are numerous factors involved when fighting out-of-state traffic violations received in Virginia. We can provide a free assessment of your case, help you understand what you need to do in regard to clearing your record, and fight to prove your innocence or have your charges dismissed or reduced. Our law firm has successfully helped residents from numerous states including but not limited to North Carolina, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Georgia, Florida, and Washington, DC.
An out-of-state driver who has issued a speeding ticket in Virginia should be 100% certain that they have actually received a speeding ticket and not a reckless driving ticket. The most common way to be charged with reckless driving is for speeding more than 80 mph or more than 20 mph over the posted speed limit. They should look on the document that the officer has given them and see whether it specifies speeding or reckless driving. Usually, the summons will say specifically speeding or reckless driving, and if it does not, then right underneath it, it will say whether the defendant is required to appear in court. If the ticket does not have information explicitly stating that it is either a speeding ticket or a reckless driving ticket, bringing it to a Virginia reckless driving attorney is a good way to determine which charge you are facing.
An out-of-state driver who does not pay the ticket by the due date is treated the same as a Virginia driver would be. In Virginia, unpaid fines are a route to have a license suspension. Even though an out-of-state driver does not have a Virginia license, their privilege to drive in Virginia can be suspended nevertheless.
Each case is different, but we focus on what the allegations are in each case. In some cases, we can tell right away that the person is in a good situation to get the case reduced. In others, we know it is more serious that they could be facing a potential license suspension or high fines and in still others we know there is a possibility that they could spend a weekend or more in jail.
Even though you are required by law to come back to court, if you have been charged with a class 1 driving offense, our Virginia reckless driving attorneys can usually get your appearance waived by the judge if you are from another part of the US. This is done by a motion called waiver of appearance that is filed by the lawyer you hire.
If you an out of state driver who has received a reckless driving ticket in Virginia in Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier, Loudoun, Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren, Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock, York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
The SRIS Law Group can help you best possible outcome based on the facts of your case. If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. reckless driving attorney because you are out of state driver who has received a reckless driving in Virginia, call us at 855-696-3348. B