DUI Laws Virginia
WE REPRESENT CLIENTS IN STATE AND FEDERAL COURTS
Drunk Driving Information Page
For those charged with driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated in Virginia, fines, court costs, probation, loss of driving privileges, ignition interlock installation, and incarceration are just some of the legal punishments that may result from a conviction. The punishments for a DUI in Virginia are extremely severe. If you have been charged with drinking and driving and you want to learn more about the consequences, speaking with an experienced Virginia DUI lawyer will probably benefit you greatly.
After a DUI arrest in Virginia, an officer will provide you with a notice of your license suspension and immediately take away your driver’s license. Your license will be given to the judge, who will then forward your suspension notice to the clerk of court. After your suspension period is over, the clerk will then return your driver’s license to you.
With all of the uncertainty that can frame your case, you can count on one of our lawyers to provide you with quality representation and to do their best to get your charges dismissed or alleviated. Your DUI charge does not have to follow you and be a source of awkwardness forever. An experienced Fairfax DUI lawyer can work to help you as much as possible. A skilled Fairfax DUI Attorney can build a legal defense in order to help you potentially get the charges reduced or even dropped.
The Commonwealth is harsh on underage drinkers driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Virginia.
Above all, school officials and college campus police are implementing the law on underage possession of alcohol. A conviction for underage DUI/possession can result in any or all of the following possible penalties – expulsion or disciplinary actions, suspension from the academic institution, etc. A conviction for underage possession in Virginia can result in car insurance rates being raised for the convicted individual. Some car insurance companies are raising the rates of car insurance as high as $5000 per year for those who are convicted of underage possession. Contact SRIS Law Group, P.C. to define what options you have if you are charged with underage DUI/possession in Virginia.
If your are under 21 years of age and you drive with a BAC of at least 0.02% but less than 0.08%, you will receive a fine of up to $500 and a six-month driver’s license interruption. If convicted of a second DUI offense within five years of a first offense, you will lose your license for three years. You must use an ignition interlock for six months for more on every motor vehicle you own or co-own whether you apply for a restricted license after one year or a full license after three years, applies to both adult and under 21.
If you need the help of Virginia DUI lawyer who defends underage possession of alcohol clients in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier, Loudoun, Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren, Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock, York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
If you wish to consult a SRIS Law Group, P.C. Virginia DUI attorney who helps underage possession of alcohol clients, call us at 855-696-3348. B