Super Bowl-DUI In Virginia
Sporting events often cause people to celebrate. The Super Bowl is such a popular event, which people frequently celebrate by drinking alcohol. This usually results in a rise in driving under the influence offenses. In Virginia, law enforcement aggressively monitors drivers who drive under the influence on Super Bowl day.
Drunk driving and alcohol-involved crashes spike during the game and in the hours after it ends. Police usually beef up enforcement in the hours surrounding the Super Bowl when drunk drivers leaving bars and house parties are likely to be on the road.
Depending on the offense you have been suspected of, there are a wide range of punishments you could end up facing in Virginia. As a result, it is important that you consult with a Virginia criminal defense lawyer, so you know exactly what penalties you may be looking at and whether anything can be done to mitigate the sentence. If you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI in the Commonwealth of Virginia, there are a variety of different punishments you could end up facing. Police officers make mistakes and they make them more often than you might think. Whether you were pulled over at sobriety checkpoint on Super Bowl Sunday or by an officer who suspected you of drunk driving, it is possible that the officer made a mistake in the way that he gathered proof, in the procedures he followed for the arrest or in another way that could affect the outcome of your case.
Virginia DUI penalties for drivers 21 years old or older vary depending on the offense number, the time period, and higher blood alcohol contents.
First offense DUI charges include up to 1 year in jail, mandatory minimum jail sentence for certain BAC levels and case facts, up to an indefinite suspension of your driver’s license/privileges or a total of 6 points on a Virginia driver’s license.
Second offense DUI charges in Virginia include you must serve at least 20 days in jail and your fine will be at least $500.00. If your BAC level was between 15 and 20 during your second offense, you must serve at least a total of 30 days in jail. If your BAC level was above 20 during your second offense, you must serve at least a total of 40 days in jail or you will lose your driver’s license for 36 months or your vehicle must be equipped with an ignition interlock device for the first 6 months of your restoration of during privileges.
Third offense DUI charges in Virginia are you must serve at least 6 months in jail and your fine will be at least $1,000.00. If your BAC level was between 15 and 20 during your third offense, you must serve another 10 days in jail in addition to the 6 months. If your BAC level was above 20 during your third offense, you must serve another 20 days in jail in addition to the 6 months. You will lose your driver’s license for 36 months or indefinitely as a habitual offender.
Additionally, not paying a court fine in Virginia will lead to an administrative suspension of the individual’s driver’s license, so they will not be able to drive until they pay their fine and restore their driver’s license with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
If you need the help of a DUI lawyer in Virginia in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier, Loudoun, Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren, Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock, York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
The SRIS Law Group can help you best possible outcome based on the facts of your case. If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. DUI attorney in Virginia, call us at 855-696-3348.