There are plenty of rules and driving laws in Virginia that can cause you to lose your license, affect your security clearance, or even sacrifice your freedom. Some of the critical rules that a driver must pay necessary attention to include:
- Reckless Driving
- Speeding ticket
- Driving on a suspended license
Most of the traffic ticket charges in the state will eventually result in the addition of further points on your record. In fact, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) monitors the number of points of every individual residing in Virginia. Accumulation of too many points on your record than normal will administratively result in suspension of your driving privileges temporarily or for some long time.
Violation of certain driving laws in Virginia is even classified as a class 1 misdemeanor, which is the most severe misdemeanor crime in the Commonwealth of Virginia. It implies that a DUI or a Reckless Driving Ticket is as significantly serious as a Sexual Assault & Battery, or Possession of Marijuana charge, etc. If you are charged with violating one or more of the various driving rules, approach an experienced criminal defense lawyer to protect your rights. The reliable legal practitioner will also answer your queries related to traffic violation rules and driving laws in Virginia, such as:
- Are all traffic violation actions criminal offenses?
- How many rules and regulatory guidelines are there related to speeding?
- For all types of traffic violations, is the monetary punishment the same?
- What are the traffic rules and reckless driving penalties?
- Are all the traffic rules given in the Virginia Code?
- What are the laws related to driving without a license and driving with a suspended license?
Here are some of the basic driving laws in Virginia that you must be aware of:
Maximum Speed Limits Generally – § 46.2 – 870
Except as otherwise mentioned in this article, 55 mph shall be the maximum speed limit on non-limited access highways with 4 or more lanes, interstate highways or other limited access highways having divided roadways and all VA state primary highways.
Although fifty-five miles per hour shall be the maximum speed limit on rest of the highways when the vehicle is a bus, a passenger motor vehicle, motorcycle, or a pickup or panel truck, the highest speed limit shall be 45 mph on such highways when the vehicle is a tractor truck, a simple truck, or certain combination of vehicles engineered to transport goods or property, or is an auto being utilized to tow another vehicle created for self-propulsion, or a home trailer.
Exceeding Speed Limit – § 46.2-862
An individual shall be deemed guilty of recklessness who drives a motor or auto vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth of Virginia:
- at a speed of 20 mph or more over the applicable highest speed limit or
- over 80 mph irrespective of the applicable maximum speed limit.
Besides binding with above fundamental driving laws in Virginia, you must know when you are at
- a stop
- red traffic lights
- the red flashing lights
This is simply the basic that everyone knows. Additionally, you must also stop your car if you are on a railroad crossing with flashing signals.
If you need the help of a driving laws lawyer in VA with this type of a case in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock or York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options. B