The hit and run law is codified in 46.2-894.
Whether you have been charged with a hit and run in Virginia Beach or Fairfax, you need a skilled criminal defense lawyer to defend you against this very serious charge. The penalties for a hit and run in Virginia are very severe. If you have been involved in a car accident, you as the driver have a duty to stop as close to the scene of the accident and exchange information. If you fail to do this and drive away, you are most likely going to be charged with hit and run.
At a minimum, this is a class 1 misdemeanor. Depending on the circumstances of the accident, a violation of this law can be charged as a class 5 felony in Virginia also.
Hit and run in Virginia is very aggressively prosecuted. If you have been charged with violating this statute, contact a Virginia criminal lawyer immediately for help. Your best bet is to talk to a defense lawyer as quickly as possible regarding what your options are. The police are bound to investigate and they will do their best to find you if you have committed this crime. Keep in mind that the duty of the driver to stop in the event of an accident is mandatory. Therefore a violation of the Virginia hit and run statute will not be tolerated by law enforcement.
Virginia Code 46.2-894. Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is killed or injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged shall immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible without obstructing traffic, as provided in § 46.2-888, and report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number forthwith to the State Police or local enforcement agency, to the person struck and injured if such person appears to be capable of understanding and retaining the information, or to the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with or to the custodian of other damaged property. The driver shall also render reasonable assistance to any person injured in such accident, including taking such injured person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary or is requested by the injured person.
Where, because of injuries sustained in the accident, the driver is prevented from complying with the foregoing provisions of this section, the driver shall, as soon as reasonably possible, make the required report to the State Police or local enforcement agency and make a reasonable effort to locate the person struck, or the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with, or the custodian of the damaged property, and report to such person or persons his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number.
Any person convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of (i) Virginia Code Class 5 felony if the accident results in injury to or the death of any person, or if the accident results in more than $1000 of damage to property or (ii) a Class 1 misdemeanor if the accident results in damage of $1000 or less to property.
- Hit and run Fairfax Virginia – Is it serious?
- Hit and run Virginia law – Is it a felony or a misdemeanor?
If you need a hit and run lawyer in Virginia in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier, Loudoun, Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren, Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock, York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. hit and run attorney in Virginia, call us at 855-696-3348.