Reckless Driving Is More Common Than You Think!
Many people are not aware of just how easy it is to get slapped with a reckless driving conviction, but in Virginia, speed in excess of 80 miles per hours is considered “reckless driving”. That, and a recent surge in stricter police enforcement on the issue, means that people should not be surprised when an officer writes them up.
Even fewer people know that in Virginia, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor. That can translate to fines up to $2,500 and up to 12 months in jail – not including the potential to have your license suspended for up to 6 months and 6 points on your DMV record. In fact, after 85 miles per hour, it is likely that your license will be suspended and over 90 miles per hour will lead to a judge ordering you to jail, with every mile over 90 corresponding to an additional day behind bars. Most reckless driving offenses – and the points they come with – remain on your record for 11 years.
The Law of Offices of Sris, P.C. know exactly what potential pitfalls await those whose foot was too heavy on the gas pedal. They even have the inside scoop – as one of the attorneys, Brian Block, is a former Virginia state trooper and Mr. Sris was a former prosecutor in Virginia. There is nothing about traffic law that they don’t know, from officer questioning tactics to reliability of radar guns to the ins and outs of the manuals for speeding and traffic stops. This, combined with more than 30 years of combined law practice experience, is how they can provide you with the defense you need when facing the strict penalties tied to a reckless driving citation.
WHAT SHOULD YOU DO WHEN YOU’VE BEEN PULLED OVER FOR RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA?
- Remain calm and courteous. The very first thing to remember is that you should never argue with the officer. Be polite and take the ticket. You can fight it later on in court or have your lawyer negotiate for you.
- Do not admit guilt. It is common for the officer to ask you if you know how fast you were driving. The best answer, of course, is “I believe I was going the speed limit.” However, if you know you were speeding, content yourself with something like “I really don’t know” and “I understand you’re citing me for reckless driving.”
- Do not prepay. Most jurisdictions do not allow pre-payments anyway, but some judges in heavily traveled areas allow this. Do not pre-pay the ticket.
- Hire a lawyer. Because a reckless driving citation affects so many areas of your life: your insurance rates, security clearance, license status, and even incarceration, it is important to have the advice and legal knowledge of an attorney before you move forward.
- Inform your traffic ticket lawyer. Write up an incident report including what you recall from 5 minutes before the traffic stop to 5 minutes afterward. Create a detailed bio about you and your life experiences, including military or police service by you or your family members. “Soft facts” like the years you’ve been at your job, level of security clearance, or recommendations from an employer can show that you are a responsible person and will work for your benefit.
- Take extra precautionary measures. If you were pulled over outside of your home state, pull your driving record immediately and take the DMV course of the state you were cited in. Ask if you need to have your car’s calibration tested.
- RECKLESS DRIVING TICKETS IN FAIRFAX COUNTY – Fairfax County is one of the few counties where you cannot plea bargain/negotiate with the prosecutor without an attorney. So if you have a reckless driving ticket or some other form of traffic violation or criminal charge in Fairfax, the only way you plea bargain your case is by hiring an attorney. If you show up to court without an attorney, it is going to be you, the judge and the police officer. Trust us; this is not in your best interest.
That can be a lot to remember in the heat of the moment. Many people panic and say the wrong the thing. Thankfully, our Virginia reckless driving attorneys can still negotiate and plea bargain your case and get you a better deal. About 90% of the time, the presence of a traffic ticket lawyer who can advocate for you will lead to a better outcome than trying to go it alone.
A recent case handled by the Law Offices of Sris had a client facing a reckless driving ticket without an operator’s license. The reckless driving had caused a bad accident, but because the client called the attorney and they negotiated with the officer, the offense was downgraded to improper driving, which carries both a lower fine and fewer points.
THE BEST CHOICE TO GUIDE AND REPRESENT YOU
As your attorneys, the Law Offices of Sris, PC goes above and beyond to make sure that you have the best representation in this stressful time. Their knowledge and experience even extends to several languages spoken, in order to better serve clients in their native tongue. Getting a ticket is difficult on its own, but it is even worse when there is a language barrier or miscommunication. Their reckless driving attorneys in Virginia and staff combine to translate in English, Tamil, Spanish, and Telugu.
While this month focused on the possible outcomes of a reckless driving ticket as well as steps to take to help your case, traffic crimes are not the only focus of the Law Offices of Sris. Watch for the next issue of this monthly newsletter for more information about child custody and other criminal and traffic offenses.
When you need a Maryland or Virginia reckless driving attorney, the Law Offices of Sris is the “one stop law firm” to call at 855-696-3348. B