Reckless driving tickets are not as common in New Kent as some other areas The speed limit in the New Kent County section of Interstate-64 is 70 mph. Unfortunately, traveling only 11 mph above 70 is considered “reckless driving” in the state of Virginia. Individuals should carefully evaluate the qualifications of a traffic lawyer before selecting a firm to represent them in a traffic offense. Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500. It adds 6 points to your driving record and the conviction stays for 11 years in your driving record.
Additionally, there are many secondary concerns such as increased insurance premiums, points on your driving record, license suspensions due to the accumulation of points, and failed criminal background checks. A conviction for reckless driving can severely jeopardize your freedom, your career, and your driving record.
You are probably afraid of having to go to court and spend hours waiting just to admit guilt if you are guilty, or stressing as to whether or not the judge will believe that you are innocent. If you were polite and cooperative with the officer, that will help your case. If the police testify that you were rude or impolite, it will be more difficult to have the charge reduced or dismissed.
Every DUI case is truly unique. What is important is that your attorney should know what to expect and how to proceed with your case, so that you have the best chance possible to get the best outcome possible on any given day. However, under Virginia’s implied consent laws, anyone who holds a driver’s license from the state of Virginia must submit to a breath test if asked to do so by an officer. If you refuse to take the test, your license will be automatically suspended for up to a year.
Many people who have been charged with a simple speeding infraction will often prepay the ticket without giving it a second thought. At first blush, paying $100 or $200, and avoiding a court appearance seems like the practical decision to make, but when arrested for an offense of driving under the influence, if someone had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher or they are charged with refusal to take the breathalyzer after probable cause for arrest, there is an administrative suspension of their driver’s license for 7 days.
In Virginia, the mere occurrence of an accident does not mean the driver is guilty of reckless driving. Again, the Commonwealth of Virginia in New Kent has the burden of proof to establish the offense of reckless driving. Many people are confused because they feel they were not driving recklessly, that they were not weaving in the lane or having “near misses” with other vehicles, so they think they should not have received a reckless driving ticket.
If you need help of a traffic ticket lawyer in New Kent, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
The SRIS Law Group can help you best possible outcome based on the facts of your case. If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. traffic attorney in New Kent, VA, call us at 855-696-3348.