Reckless Driving Virginia Laws Maryland Lawyer Speed Fairfax Loudoun



Defending Reckless Driving tickets in Virginia, Maryland state and federal courts

Maryland’s basic speeding law prohibits driving at a speed that is more than that which is reasonable and prudent under the conditions. In other words, motorists must always drive at a safe speed or they can be charged with reckless driving in Maryland. What a safe speed is will depend on the situations. For example, 55 miles per hour might be safe on a bright, sunny day, but if it is dark and the road is icy, going 55 miles per hour could be dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.

Maryland is one of nine states that allow speed cameras. Maryland’s law was passed in 2009 and allows speed cameras in school zones and work zones on expressways. Montgomery County allows the cameras in residential zones, but no county in Southern Maryland allows that. Your local jurisdiction has to pass their own law authorizing them in before they can be installed. Charles County did that last year, and so did Chesapeake Beach in Calvert County.  Reckless driving in Maryland is now being strictly enforced.

Slow speed impeding traffic is prohibited unless reduced speed is necessary for the safe operation of the vehicle or otherwise is in compliance with law, a person may not willfully drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.

Generally speaking, sentencing law is complex and varies from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. For example, a statute might list a minimum jail sentence that is longer than the actual amount of time a defendant will have to spend behind bars. All kinds of factors can affect actual punishment including the severity of the damage at issue, credits for good in-custody behavior, and jail-alternative work programs.

A person shall be guilty of reckless driving in Virginia who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth of Virginia at a speed of 20 miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or in excess of 80 miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit. The law can be confusing on the subject and scary to many who may not understand exactly what consequences they face if convicted of reckless driving.

First time offenders in Virginia get consideration for their lack of speeding history during sentencing and plea-bargaining negotiations between the defense attorney and prosecutor. However, it is important to understand that prior speeding tickets and poor driving records, even though noncriminal in nature, are considered by the prosecutors when plea bargaining a reckless driving ticket in Virginia.

Since the potential penalties for reckless driving are so severe, it is important to take a reckless driving charge seriously. Though sometimes subtle, the differences in state law can also produce radically different outcomes depending on where a violation takes place. For example, behavior that qualifies as a civil violation in Maryland might qualify a driver for imprisonment in Virginia.

If you need the help of a reckless driving ticket lawyer in Virginia in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania (Fredericksburg), Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options. If you need the help of a reckless driving ticket lawyer in Maryland in Montgomery County, Charles County (Waldorf), Rockville, Bethesda, Howard County, Baltimore County, City of Baltimore, Anne Arundel County (Annapolis), Ellicott City or Frederick, do not hesitate to call us for a consultation.

Our firm also defends reckless driving tickets before the federal courts of Virginia & Maryland.

If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. attorney, call us at 855-696-3348.

Scroll to Top