In Virginia, driving within 5 miles of the posted speed limit is usually not a problem as long as you are driving safely. This, of course, depends on weather conditions and traffic rules, so sometimes it is better not to take a chance, and stay within posted speed limits. For many people, driving 5 to 20 mph over the speed limit is sensible because the motor vehicle can be handled appropriately.
On the other hand, you may also receive a speeding ticket in Virginia if you do not drive within the limit, and the conditions were considered unsafe for you and other drivers. An example of such a scenario is whether you are driving down the road while the weather is dangerous (rainstorm, fog, etc.) or the traffic is slow and cumbersome, and you are being driven too fast for these conditions. Here is an overview of speed limits in the state:
- During the day out of the commercial or residential district: 20 mph
- Overnight outside commercial or residential areas: 80 mph
- School zones: 20 mph
Virginia also follows a points system for the violation of traffic laws.
All the traffic violations are recorded on your driving record. You may have the risk of suspension of license or even if you many offenses are added to your driving records.
Most of the tickets for reckless driving in Virginia are based only on speed. If you drive more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or more than 80 miles per hour, you may be accused of reckless driving for speeding. According to the law: Virginia Code 46.2-862 :
A person will be guilty of reckless driving if he drives a motor vehicle on Commonwealth highways (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more than the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) more than eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
The lawyers of the traffic courts in the state have a high capacity in their hand to determine their punishment for reckless driving. This means that a lawyer can argue with you and possibly reduce your accusation or punishment.
It is essential to know that judges can use their criteria to reduce an accusation of reckless driving to “improper handling.” Inappropriate handling is a mere traffic infraction with a fine of no more than $ 500. Inappropriate processing only involves three DMV points and is removed from your file after three years.
REDUCE THE FINE FOR RECKLESS DRIVING
In most cases due to imprudent Virginia management, your goal is to reduce the accusation to something more acceptable. As mentioned above, Virginia judges can reduce their indictment to “improper handling.” In such jurisdictions, you may be able to opt out of your ticket by attending a driving course.
Virginia traffic lawyer can help you evaluate your options and determine what results are likely. They can then create an action plan to deal with your fine for reckless driving. The objective is the total dismissal of the accusation or a result of “not guilty.” But at least, it may reduce his indictment.
If you need the help of a speeding ticket lawyer in VA with this type of a case in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock or York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options. B