Reckless driving is a crime in Virginia whether the charge is based on excessive speed or as result from an accident, and it prohibits going over 80 miles per hour or any speed 20+ over the speed limit. This is a Class I misdemeanor offense, which is the same level of offense as Driving Under the Influence in Virginia.
First-time offenders get consideration for their lack of speeding history during sentencing and plea-bargaining negotiations between the Virginia reckless driving defense attorney and prosecutor. However, it is important to understand that prior speeding tickets and poor driving records, even though noncriminal in nature, are considered by the prosecutors and judges to elevate penalties.
Criminal convictions, even for misdemeanors, can have very serious consequences. In addition, the consequences do not end with those handed down by a judge. A conviction will almost certainly mean a drastic increase in your car insurance premiums, plus a criminal record that could hamper your ability to find employment, education, or even housing in the future. Whatever your case may be, you should strongly consider contacting a Virginia reckless driving attorney to begin building a defense and protecting your rights. If you are charged with a crime, the best way to avoid a conviction is to talk to an experienced criminal defense attorney.
If your reckless driving charge was in Fairfax, Loudoun, or Prince William County, and was based on speeding, some judges in those counties have an informal policy of sentencing you to at least 1 day in jail for every mile per hour over 90 that you allegedly were driving. So, if you were clocked at 100 mph, you would likely expect a sentence of at least 10 days in any of those counties. Judges in the city courts like Fairfax, Manassas, and Leesburg tend to impose at least 1 day in jail for every mile per hour over 35 on city streets where the posted speed limit is lower.
Speeding is not an only traffic infraction, but reckless driving also due to excessive speed is a criminal offense. If you are pulled over for speeding in excess of 20 mph above the posted limit, or in excess of 80 mph regardless of the posted limit, you may be charged with Class 1 misdemeanor. Reckless driving carries many of the same consequences of any misdemeanor criminal offense, including the possibility of jail time and a criminal record that is both permanent and publicly available.
Your specific punishment for a Virginia reckless driving ticket will vary based on the facts of your case and driving record, and the local judge who hears your case.
Virginia has expansive reckless driving laws. A motorist can be convicted of reckless driving for operating a vehicle at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person, but Virginia law also lists 13 different traffic violations that, if proven, automatically establish reckless driving.
If you need the help of a class 1 misdemeanor Virginia lawyer in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania (Fredericksburg), Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick (Winchester), Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock, York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options.
If you wish to consult the SRIS Law Group, P.C. Virginia class 1 misdemeanor attorney, call us at 855-696-3348.