Have you been charged with reckless driving in Virginia? You should talk to a local lawyer experienced in traffic before the date of going to court.
SERIOUS CRIMINAL INFRACTION SERIOUS CRIMINAL OFFENSE
Reckless driving in Virginia is a class 1 misdemeanor. That’s a criminal offense and carries six DMV points, a possible $ 2,500 fine, and a possible 12-month jail sentence.
Apart from the fine and time in jail, your license can also be suspended for up to six months. And a conviction for reckless driving in Virginia remains in your Virginia DMV record for 11 years.
RECKLESS DRIVING FOR SPEEDING IN VIRGINIA
Most of the tickets for reckless driving in Virginia are based only on speed. If you drive more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or more than 80 miles per hour, you may be accused of reckless driving for speeding.
Virginia Code 46.2-862 :
A person will be guilty of reckless driving if he drives a motor vehicle on Commonwealth highways (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more than the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) more than eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
RECKLESS DRIVING FOR EVERYTHING
The police officer can also claim reckless driving, just on the facts that he believes you drive that could endanger the life or property of others.
Virginia Code 46.2-852 :
Regardless of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at speed or in a manner that endangers the life, limbs or property of any person, will be guilty of reckless driving.
There are many factors that we can argue to the judge to reduce or even dismiss an accusation of reckless driving. You should talk to a lawyer about the ones that apply to your specific case, but these are general guidelines:
- Good driving record
- Improper reading of the speedometer
- Legitimate emergency
Various factors that come into play in some particular types of accusations in case of reckless driving. Your lawyer could further diminish your possible punishment.
There is need to take different steps to proceed in the court, so you need a lawyer to help you accurately.
- Get a copy of your driving record
- Is speedometer is working properly
- Hold a driver education class
- Do some community services
The lawyers of the traffic courts have a high capacity in their hand to determine their punishment for reckless driving. This means that a lawyer can argue with you and possibly reduce your accusation or punishment.
It is essential to know that criteria of a lawyer can be used to reduce an accusation of reckless driving to “improper handling.” Inappropriate handling is a mere traffic infraction with a fine of no more than $ 500. Inappropriate processing only involves three DMV points and is removed from your file after three years.
Virginia Code 46.2-869 :
The preceding provisions of this article, in the trial of any person accused of reckless driving where the degree of culpability is light, the court at its discretion may find that the defendant is not guilty for the driving recklessly but may be guilty of improper driving. However, a Commonwealth attorney could reduce an accusation of reckless driving to improper handling at any time before the court’s decision and will notify the court of such change. Improper handling will be punishable as a traffic offense punishable by a fine of not more than $ 500.
If you need the help of a DMV reckless driving lawyer in VA with this type of a case in Fairfax, City of Fairfax, Prince William (Manassas), Fauquier (Warrenton), Loudoun (Leesburg), Caroline, Stafford, Spotsylvania, Chesterfield, Henrico, Arlington, Richmond, Alexandria, Warren (Front Royal), Clarke, Shenandoah, King George, Charles City, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Gloucester, Hanover, Hopewell, James City, King & Queen, King William, New Kent, Newport News, Petersburg, Prince George, Rappahannock or York, call our law firm immediately for help and speak to a lawyer about your options. B